Boating Laws in Arkansas

Arkansas Game and Fish is compliments of
Vision Realty, The Real Estate Professionals.

Registering a Boat
Accidents
Mandatory Boating Education
Boating Law
Boating Under the Influence
Reckless Boating
Personal Floatation Devices
Launch Permits
Lake, River and National Forest Boundary Properties for Sale

 

 

Registering a Boat

Boats propelled by sail or motor must be registered when operated on public waters.

Arkansas boat owners may register a boat at the office of the County Revenue Agent in the county where the boat is principally used or in their home county.

Proof of $50,000 liability insurance is required at registration and must be carried on board if over 50 horsepower.  An identification number will be assigned to each registered boat.

Out-of-state boat with valid registrations may be operated for up to 90 days without registering in Arkansas.

Top of Page

Report a Boating Accident

The operator of a boat involved in an accident is required to immediately:

  • Render assistance to other persons affected by the incident to save them or minimize danger so far as he can without serious danger to his own boat, crew and passengers.

  • Give his or her name, address, and identification of his or her boat in writing to any person injured and to the owner of any property damaged in the incident.

  • Notify the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission or the local Sheriff's office of the accident so an officer can investigate the accident.  To report a boating accident, call 1-800-482-9262.  Accidents involving death, injury or property damage of $500 or more must be reported.

Report a Boating Accident
1-800-482-9262

Top of Page

Mandatory Boating Education

Arkansas residents born on or after January 1, 1986 and of legal age to operate a motorboat, must have successfully completed an approved Arkansas Game and Fish Commission Boating Education Course and carry proof while operating a motorboat.

The Arkansas Boating Education Course is designed to teach the fundamentals of safe and responsible boating.  This is necessary to reduce loss of life, personal injury and property damage while increasing boating enjoyment for outdoor enthusiasts. 

The law affects operators of motor-powered craft and sailboats.  The basic boating course is free-of-charge and includes:  Arkansas Boating Law, Boat Classification, Registration and Trailering, Personal Flotation Devices, Rules of the Road (water), Maintenance and Boating Accidents.

For information about boating education and classes, contact Arkansas Game and Fish Commission at

501-223-6377 (Little Rock)
or 1-877-493-6424 (toll free).

Class schedules are also posted on the web at
 www.agfc.com

Top of Page

Boating Law

Operating a Boat in excess of five m.p.h. in a posted no-wake zone within 100 feet of a recreation area, dock, pier, raft, float, anchored boat or dam intake or other obstruction is illegal.

Lights - Boats must be equipped with the described lights during darkness:

  • On state-controlled waters, lights on boats, including those on non-powered boats, must be sufficient to make the boat's presence and location known to any other vessel within reasonable distance.

  • On federally-controlled waters, non powered boats must have a readily accessible light source to be used in sufficient time to prevent a collision.  Motorboats operating on federally-controlled waters must have a combination red and green light on the bow and a white light aft.

Fire Extinguishers are required of inboard boats, open boats with built-in fuel tanks and boats with bilges where flammable gases may accumulate.

Children under age 12 may not operate a boat powered by a motor over 10 horse-power except when under the direct supervision of a person over 17.

SCUBA - A driver's flag means that scuba divers are in the water nearby.  Slow down and use caution.  Boats are required to operate at idle speed within 100 feet of a diver's flag.  More information is available about scuba from the Arkansas Game and Fish Commission.

Boat Capacity - Loading a vessel beyond its stated safe carrying capacity is illegal.

Corps of Engineers - No vessel may enter within 100 yards downstream of a Army Crops of Engineers dam.  Operating a vessel in a manner contrary to signs, markers or buoys placed by the Crops controlling speed, skiing or operation of vessels is prohibited.

For information about boating education and classes, contact Arkansas Game and Fish Commission at 501-223-6377 (Little Rock)
or 1-877-493-6424 (toll free).
Class schedules are also posted on the web at
 www.agfc.com

Top of Page

Boating Under Influence

Operating a boat while under the influence of alcohol is illegal.  A blood alcohol content of .08% or greater is considered intoxicated and the operator is subject to arrest.

By law, anyone who operates a motorboat in the state of Arkansas has consented to being tested for intoxication.

Fines range from $250 up to $5,000 with potential incarceration and restriction from operating a motorboat.

Top of Page

Reckless Boating

On Arkansas Game and Fish Commission lakes and access, you may not legally, unless otherwise noted:

  • Water ski or use personal watercraft.

  • Create a hazardous wake.

  • Obstruct an access area, parking area, launching ramp or access road.

  • Build a structure on Commission-owned (or controlled) lakes unless it complies with Commission policy.  Further information is available by calling 501-223-6371.

  • Possess firearms except while legally hunting waterfowl.  During open hunting seasons, firearms may be transported by boat, if unloaded and cased.

Operation of a boat, water ski(s) or personal watercraft in a reckless or negligent manner is prohibited.  This includes weaving through congested vessel traffic, operating within 100 feet of a towboat that is underway, jumping the wake of another vessel too closely and swerving at the last possible moment to avoid collision.

For information about boating education and classes, contact Arkansas Game and Fish Commission at

501-223-6377 (Little Rock)
or 1-877-493-6424 (toll free).

Class schedules are also posted on the web at
 www.agfc.com

Top of Page

Personal Flotation Devices

Boats under 16 feet long, canoes and kayaks must have one wearable (Type I, II or III) PFD in serviceable condition and of proper size for each person on board.

Boats, 16 feet or longer, must have one wearable (Type I, II, or III) PFD in serviceable condition and of proper size for each person on board and one Type IV (throwable) PFD in each boat.

Children under the age of 13 must wear a well-fitting PFD at all times while aboard a boat.  The only exceptions are when they are within the enclosed area of a houseboat, cruiser, or within the railings of a party barge while the boat is not underway.

Water Skiers must wear a Type I, II, III or V PFD.  Water skiing is not allowed from one-half hour after sunset to one-half hour before sunrise.  Boats towing water skiers must have, in addition to the driver, an observer at least 12 years of age or a wide angle convex marine mirror to observe the person being towed.

For information about Personal Floatation Devices,
contact Arkansas Game and Fish Commission at


501-223-6377 (Little Rock)
or 1-877-493-6424 (toll free)

Top of Page

Launch Permits

Annual launching permits can be purchased to launch boats from Corps of Engineers facilities nationwide. 

Visit your local Corps office

or call

501-324-5551 for more information.

US Army Corps of Engineers.

Top of Page

This Community Web Site, www.VisionMena.com has been brought to you by
Vision Realty in Mena Arkansas, REALTORS®
500 Mena Street, P O Box 192, Mena, AR 71953
479-394-1111 ~ Fax:  479-394-0003 ~ Copyright 2001 through 2015
07/16/15 08:16 PM
Home
Quick Link (Site Maps)
Arkansas Information
Arkansas Information Directory
Arkansas Facts and Trivia
Arkansas History - A Time Line
Arkansas Capitol PDF Tour
Game and Fish
Contact Arkansas Game & Fish
Fishing Licenses
Boating Laws
Turkey Hunting
Local Area Lakes
Regional Offices
Arkansas State Parks
Homestead Exemption
Income Tax
Personal Property Tax
Revenue Stamps
Arkansas PDF Guidebooks
Elk in Arkansas Brochure PDF
2008 Turkey Guide Book (PDF)
2008 Fishing Guide Book (PDF)
2007-2008 Harvest Summary (PDF)
2008 Trout Fishing Guide Book (PDF)
2008-2009 Arkansas Hunting Guidebook
2008-2009 Arkansas Waterfowl Guidebook
Community Information
Community Links
Community Links Site Map
All About Mena
City & County Governments
Trade Area of Mena Arkansas
Schools
Lodging
Restaurants
Yellow Pages
Area Churches
All About Mena
Utility Companies
Area Communities
Clubs & Organizations
Special Events Calendar
Cemeteries
Weather
Our Vision is Your Vision!

500  Mena St.
Mena, AR 71953
479-394-1111
Real Estate Information
Real Estate for Sale
Retiring in Mena
Vision Services
Contact Vision Realty
Ask ?'s & Add Info
Input Forms